Advice and support services

Research data management plans

The university is committed to supporting its scientific staff with the creation of plans for the management of their scientific outputs. This commitment is outlined in the research data management policy of the MLU (in German only). In the same context, several funder agencies require data management plans to be provided as important complementary information of grant applications. Reviewers pay increasing attention to research data management plans while evaluating a proposal. In some cases, these plans are compulsory. The ULB offers scientific staff at the MLU support with writing the different sections of data management plans.

A data management plan is an instrument which will help grant applicants to provide their grant-application reviewers with information about:

  • the types of data being created, including data formats
  • how the data will be handled during and after a given project comes to an end
  • data ownership
  • data storage and data preservation decisions
  • the available infrastructure

At the ULB we have drawn up a guide for creating FDM plans with important information.

The ULB and the Open Science Team work closely with other institutions which also support diverse FDM activities at the university. One of these partners is the Historical Data Centre Sachsen-Anhalt. Here you can read their advice document on the creation of data management plans for historians and other researchers in the humanities.

You can also consult an anonymized example of a Data Management Plan that has been written in the context of a natural science research project at the MLU which successfully obtained funding.

ULB’s Open Science Team can be contacted for personalized discussion of RDM questions and DMP. Drafts for DMPs can also be sent via e-mail for comments and remarks. Alternatively, SciFlow users can use templates for data management plans for some funding options (DFG, BMBF, H2020).

Research data management advice

While a number of resources provide excellent general advice on a variety of RDM topics, domain and discipline specific RDM information and advice is often required.

The ULB has therefore prepared the following subject-specific advice pages to provide information about, for example, where and how you can find and store research data, on suitable data formats, and where you can publish these research data:

I Natural Sciences

II Social Sciences and Humanities

If you require further discipline-specific information which is not available in these pages please get in touch with a member of the Open Science Team.

Resources for finding data

There are a number of metasearch engines which can be used to obtain data sets or get an initial overview of the amount of available data from a particular source or subject.

Other important resources for finding research data are the so-called data journals. These journals publish new types of publication forms called data descriptors and data papers which focus on the data sets describing the methods used to collect the data and technical analyses supporting the quality of the measurements.

The following are examples of established peer reviewed data journals from different disciplines with high re-use potential:

Beratung und Service

Unterstützung bei der Erstellung von FDM-Plänen

Die Universität möchte ihre wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter bei der Erstellung von Plänen für die Verwaltung ihrer wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse unterstützen. Ausführungen dazu sind  in ihrer Richtlinie zum Forschungsdatenmanagement festgelegt. Ebenso fordern mehrere Geldgeber inzwischen, dass Datenmanagementpläne als wichtige ergänzende Information zu Anträgen bereitgestellt werden. Gutachter widmen den Plänen für das Forschungsdatenmanagement bei der Bewertung eines Vorschlags zunehmende Aufmerksamkeit. In einigen Fällen sind diese Pläne sogar obligatorisch. Die ULB bietet wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern der MLU Unterstützung beim Verfassen der verschiedenen Abschnitte von Datenmanagementplänen an.

Ein Forschungsdatenmanagementplan ist ein Instrument für Antragsteller/innen, mit dem sie ihren Gutachtern Informationen über ihre Projekte bereitstellen können. Dazu gehören u.a. Informationen über:

  • die Art der Daten, die erzeugt werden, einschließlich der Datenformate
  • den Umgang mit den Daten während und nach dem Ende eines Projekts
  • das Eigentum der Daten
  • Entscheidungen zur Datenspeicherung und – Langzeitarchivierung
  • die verfügbare Infrastruktur.

Die ULB hat einen Leitfaden zur Erstellung von FDM-Plänen mit wichtigen Informationen verfasst.

Die ULB und das Open Science Team arbeiten eng mit anderen MLU-Institutionen zusammen, die ebenfalls FDM-Aktivitäten unterstützen. Einer dieser Partner ist das Historische Datenzentrum Sachsen-Anhalt. Das Zentrum hat ein Hinweisdokument für Historiker und andere Forscher in den Geisteswissenschaften zur Erstellung von DMPs vorbereitet.

Hier können Sie ebenfalls ein anonymisiertes Beispiel eines Datenmanagementplans lesen, der im Rahmen eines naturwissenschaftlichen Forschungsprojekts an der MLU erstellt wurde – aus einem Projekt, das erfolgreich finanziert wurde.

Das Open Science Team der ULB kann kontaktiert werden, um einen Termin zur persönlichen Besprechung von FDM-Plan-Fragen zu vereinbaren. Entwürfe zu FDM-Plänen können auch per E-Mail zur Inhaltsbewertung und Überprüfung eingereicht  werden. Alternativ können Sciflow-Benutzer/-innen die Vorlagen für Datenverwaltungspläne  von einigen Geldgebern (DFG, BMBF, H2020) verwenden, um Pläne zu erstellen.

Fachspezifische Angebote der ULB

Verschiedene Online-Ressourcen bieten eine gute allgemeine Beratung und Informationen zu einer Vielzahl von FDM-Themen. Trotzdem sind häufig disziplinspezifische Informationen und Beratung erforderlich.

Die ULB hat daher die folgenden fachspezifischen Beratungsseiten erstellt. Sie geben u.a. Hinweise wo Forschungsdaten zu finden sind, wie sie gespeichert werden können, welche Datenformate geeignet sind und wo Forschungsdaten veröffentlichen werden können.

I Naturwissenschaften

II Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften

Wenn Sie weitere fachspezifische Informationen benötigen, die auf diesen Seiten nicht verfügbar sind, wenden Sie sich bitte an ein Mitglied des Open Science-Teams.

Wichtige Recherche-Tools und Datenjournale

Sogenannte Metasuchmaschinen können verwendet werden, um Datensätze zu erhalten oder einen ersten Überblick über die Menge der verfügbaren Daten aus einer bestimmten Quelle oder zu einem bestimmten Thema zu bekommen.

Weitere wichtige Ressourcen zum Auffinden von Forschungsdaten sind die sogenannten Data Journals. Diese Zeitschriften veröffentlichen Beiträge, die als data descriptors und data papers bezeichnet werden. Sie beschreiben Methoden zur Erfassung von Daten und technische Analysen zur Unterstützung der Qualität von Messungen.

Einige Beispiele für etablierte Peer-Review-Data Journals verschiedener Disziplinen mit hohem Wiederverwendungspotenzial sind: