Diamond Open Access Publishing

The term Diamond Open Access (D-OA) refers to publications and platforms which can be reached and their contents read free of costs by anyone. This also includes the authors who publish this content. Through D-OA, fair access to knowledge is enabled.

The ULB is supporter of specific initiatives such as the Open Library of Humanities and is in the process of establishing and publishing environment which is cost-neutral and which will allow authors create new and ad hoc publishing workflows.  

Project: Open Source Academic Publishing Suite (OS-APS)

As part of these developments the ULB is project partner of the BMBF-financed project Open Source Academic Publishing Suite (OS-APS) which aims at creating new media-neutral publishing workflows and tools.

The ULB is responsible for the work package integration of our Share_it repository with our Open Journal System (OJS) and our Open Monograph Press (OMP) publishing tools.

Open Journal System

The ULB offers researchers at the MLU and other research partner institutions in Halle the opportunity to publish e-journals in open access free of charge. For this purpose, the university uses the Open Journal System software which is currently used in many academic institutions in Germany and worldwide. The idea is to offer academics a tool with which they can set up new journals, create peer review workflows, act as editors of theses, and publisher their contents in a way that these are persistently identified, stored, and visible and reachable to a wide audience.

Open Monograph Press

Likewise, the ULB offers scientists at the MLU and other research partners in Saxony-Anhalt the opportunity to publish monographs and other types of scientific publications such as series or anthologies in Open Access free of charge. For this purpose, the university uses the Open Monograph software, which is already in use at many scientific institutions in Germany and worldwide. Please get in touch the Open Science Team if you would like to publish content in our OMP.

Diamond Open Access Publizieren

Der Begriff Diamond Open Access (D-OA) bezieht sich auf Publikationen und Plattformen, die für jedermann kostenlos zugänglich sind und deren Inhalte gelesen werden können. Auch die Autor*innen, die diese Inhalte veröffentlichen, können dies im D-OA (im Unterschied zu Gold Open Access) kostenlos tun – es werden keine APCs verlangt. Durch D-OA wird ein fairer Zugang zu Wissen ermöglicht.

Die ULB unterstützt spezifische Initiativen wie die Open Library of Humanities und ist dabei, eine kostenneutrale Publikationsumgebung zu schaffen, die es Autoren ermöglicht, neue und ad hoc Publikationsabläufe zu schaffen. 

Projekt: Open Source Academic Publishing Suite (OS-APS)

Im Rahmen dieser Entwicklungen ist die ULB Projektpartner des vom BMBF finanzierten Projekts Open Source Academic Publishing Suite (OS-APS), das die Schaffung neuer medienneutraler Publikationsworkflows und -werkzeuge zum Ziel hat.

Die ULB ist verantwortlich für das Arbeitspaket zur Integration unseres DSpace-Repositoriums mit unserem Open Journal System (OJS) und unseren Open Monograph Press (OMP) Publishing Tools.

Open Journal System

Die ULB nutzt die Software Open Journal System, die bereits in vielen wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in Deutschland und weltweit eingesetzt wird. Die Idee ist, Wissenschaftler*innen ein Werkzeug anzubieten, mit dem sie neue Zeitschriften einrichten, Peer-Review-Workflows erstellen, als Herausgeber von Publikationen fungieren und ihre Inhalte so veröffentlichen können, dass diese dauerhaft gekennzeichnet, gespeichert und für ein breites Publikum sichtbar und erreichbar sind. Bitte setzen Sie sich mit dem Open Science Team in Verbindung, wenn Sie Inhalte in unserem OJS veröffentlichen möchten.

Open Monograph Press

Die ULB bietet Wissenschaftler*innen der MLU und anderen Forschungspartnern in Sachsen-Anhalt die Möglichkeit, Monographien und andere Arten von wissenschaftlichen Publikationen wie Reihen oder Sammelbände im Open Access kostenfrei zu veröffentlichen. Dazu nutzt die ULB die Software Open Monograph Press, die bereits in vielen wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in Deutschland und weltweit eingesetzt wird. Bitte setzen Sie sich mit dem Open Science Team in Verbindung, wenn Sie Inhalte in unserem OMP veröffentlichen möchten.