Introduction RDM

Research data management is about ensuring the right decisions are taken when creating, organizing, and storing data derived from diverse research activities. Research data management (RDM) is also about taking decisions and planning how this data will be looked after over the lifetime of a project and beyond.

Definition

Research data refers to data which is created during a particular research process or is the result from this process. Research data can be generated through a variety of methods such as experiments, measurements, interviews, questionnaires, etc. This results in different definitions and interpretations as to what research data are by different research communities.

Benefits of good research data management (RDM)

  • Data security is enhanced, data loss minimized
  • Your research remains accurate, transparent, und reliable
  • Helps you comply with funding requirements
  • Your research outputs meet the FAIR Standard and may thus be replicated

 

RDM at MLU

In 2018 the academic senate approved the MLU’s research data management policy and an open science working group, mentored by the Vice-Chancellor for research, started a number of activities. These include the procurement of advice and support for scientists and data creators on a variety of research data management topics, the provision of an infrastructure for publishing scientific results, and the creation of an expert’s network to provide our research communities subject specific interdisciplinary advice on a number of RDM topics.

The ULB participates actively in these groups focusing on providing specific advice with the writing of research data management plans and support for publishing research results via our publications and research data repository Share_it.  We work closely with other service institutions at the MLU to create a suitable open research data ecosystem for our authors and data creators.

Einführung FDM

Beim Management von Forschungsdaten geht es darum, sicherzustellen, dass die richtigen Entscheidungen bei der Erstellung, Organisation, Speicherung und Freigabe von Daten getroffen werden. Forschungsdatenmanagement (FDM) beinhaltet zudem Überlegungen, wie die Daten über die Laufzeit eines Projekts und darüber hinaus gepflegt werden können.

Definition

Forschungsdaten sind Daten, die während eines bestimmten Forschungsprozesses erstellt werden oder die Ergebnisse von solchen Forschungsprozessen sind. Forschungsdaten werden durch verschiedene Methoden generiert. Daraus ergeben sich unterschiedliche fach- und projektspezifisches Definitionen und Interpretationen von Forschungsdaten.

Vorteile eines guten Forschungsdatenmanagements (FDM)

  • Die Datensicherheit wird erhöht, der Datenverlust minimiert.
  • Ihre Forschungsdokumentation ist transparent und nachvollziehbar im Hinblick auf gute wissenschaftliche Praxis.
  • Ein gutes FDM hilft bei der Einhaltung der unterschiedlichen Anforderungen der Geldgeber.
  • Ihre Forschungsergebnisse entsprechen dem FAIR-Standard und können somit repliziert werden.

FDM an der MLU

Im Jahr 2018 genehmigte der Akademische Senat die FDM-Richtlinien der MLU und eine neu gegründete Open Science Arbeitsgruppe, die vom Prorektorat für Forschung unterstützt wird, startete mehrere Aktivitäten. Dazu gehören die Beratung und Unterstützung von Wissenschaftler/-innen und Datenerzeugern zu verschiedenen Themen des Forschungsdatenmanagements, die Bereitstellung einer Infrastruktur für die Veröffentlichung wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse und die Schaffung eines Expertennetzwerks, um unseren diversen Fach-Communities an der MLU fachspezifische interdisziplinäre Beratung zu FDM-Themen anzubieten.

 

Die ULB ist sowohl im Expertennetzwerks als auch in der Open Science AG vertreten und bietet spezifische Beratung zur Erstellung von Forschungsdatenmanagementplänen sowie bei der Veröffentlichung von Forschungsergebnissen über das Publikations- und Forschungsdaten-Repositorium Share_it an. Die ULB arbeitet eng mit anderen Serviceeinrichtungen der MLU zusammen, um ein geeignetes offenes Forschungsdaten-Ökosystem für unsere  Wissenschaftler/-innen und Datenerzeuger anzubieten.