External repositories

There are disciplinary, generic and institutional repositories. A search for suitable repositories can be conducted in the  re3data.org portal. Disciplinary repositories provide good-quality datasets usually available in ready-to-use formats. Institutional repositories offer a direct way to publish research results which may not otherwise be easily publishable like technical reports, theses and other forms of grey literature.

Generic repositories (e.g. Figshare, Zenodo or Dryad) are popular because they offer data creators a simple way to store heterogeneous, multidisciplinary data sets. These use persistent identifiers and APIs that can automatically harvest contents to other repositories to increase the visibility and findability of their data holdings.

Name Dryad Zenodo Figshare RADAR
Responsible Institution California Digital Library (CDL) CERN – OpenAire Digital Science (MacMillan-NPG) FIZ-Karsruhe
Costs 120 USD per Dataset Free – until 50 GB Free until – 20 GB Contract costs: 595 p.a. or 7,56 per GB one-time payment
Hosting of the data UC3 Merritt (California Digital Library) USA CERN Data Centre Amazon Web Services S3 in Dublin (Data push to local server possible) FIZ Karlsruhe

When selecting a repository, pay attention to the following minimum requirements:

  • A repository should be supported by an institution which guarantees the long-term availability of the service
  • The use of persistent identifiers (DOI, Handle, or URNs) is supported
  • Your deposited data are indexed by various open access directories to ease searching and discovery

The ULB provides advice on finding a suitable repository. If you have specific questions, do not hesitate to contact us: openscience@bibliothek.uni-halle.de or find out whether you would be eligible to publish your data in our publication and research data repository Share_it.

Other important things to consider are:

  • Focus on using repositories which have some form of certification such as the Core Trust Seal, or the DINI certificate. These certificates give an indication of the quality of the repository and its trustworthiness.
  • Some data types (e.g. non-anonymized personal or medical data sets) may not be suitable for storage outside the EU or event your institution (see table). In this case, your institutional repository may offer a suitable free-cost alternative for securing your data.
  • Think of the potential future usage of your data and your target community – are you choosing the right formats?.
  • Consider the requirements of publishers, funding institutions and specialized community in advance – you may be requested to submit/deposit your results in specific repositories
  • Generic repositories may not offer a data curation process or quality control step over the deposited data. Make sure you distribute your research outputs in stable formats which are suitable for long-term archiving and are thus likely to withstand hardware / software obsolescence
  • The for-profit nature of some generic repositories may mean that some advance features may only be available for pay-costumers.

Externe Repositorien

Es gibt fachspezifische, generische und institutionelle Repositorien. Eine gute Übersicht über diesen Repositorien bietet das re3data.org Portal. Disziplinarische Repositorien bieten qualitativ hochwertige Datensätze, die in Formate die von Fachcommunities unterstützt sind. Institutionelle Repositorien bieten andererseits eine zentrale Möglichkeit, technische Berichte, Abschlussarbeiten und andere graue Literatur oder Forschungsergebnisse zu veröffentlichen.

Generische Repositorien (z.B. Dryad, Zenodo, Figshare und RADAR) bieten eine Möglichkeit, heterogene und fachübergreifende Datensätze zu speichern. Diese Repositorien verwenden persistenten Identifkatoren und APIs, die ihre Inhalte automatisch an andere Repositorien melden, um die Sichtbarkeit ihrer Datenbestände zu erhöhen.

Name Dryad Zenodo Figshare RADAR
Responsible Institution California Digital Library (CDL) CERN – OpenAire Digital Science (MacMillan-NPG) FIZ-Karsruhe
Costs 120 USD per Dataset Free – until 50 GB Free until – 20 GB Contract costs: 595 p.a. or 7,56 per GB one-time payment
Hosting of the data UC3 Merritt (California Digital Library) USA CERN Data Centre Amazon Web Services S3 in Dublin (Data push to local server possible) FIZ Karlsruhe

Bei der Auswahl ein Repositorium achten Sie auf folgende Mindestanforderungen:

  • Der Service basiert auf einer Institution, die die langfristige Verfügbarkeit des Dienstes garantiert
  • Die Verwendung persistenter Identifikatoren (DOI, Handle, oder URNs) wird unterstützt
  • Ihre Daten werden durch verschiedene Open Access-Verzeichnisse indiziert, um das Suchen und Auffinden zur erleichtern

Die ULB berät bei der Suche nach geeigneten Repositorien. Wenn Sie spezielle Fragen haben, zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren: openscience@bibliothek.uni-halle.de oder prüfen Sie ob Sie Ihre Daten in Share_it, unserem Publikations- und Forschungsdaten-Repositorium veröffentlichen möchten.

Weitere wichtige Tipps:

  • Bevorzugen Sie Repositorien die eine Form von Zertifizierung aufweisen. Zertifikate wie die Core Trust Seal oder das DINI-Zertifikat geben einen Hinweis auf die Qualität eines Repositoriums und seine Vertrauenswürdigkeit.
  • Einige Datentypen (z. B. nicht anonymisierte persönliche oder medizinische Datensätze) sind möglicherweise nicht für die Speicherung außerhalb der EU oder sogar Ihrer Institution geeignet (siehe Tabelle). In diesem Fall bietet ein institutionelles Repositorium möglicherweise eine geeignete kostenlose Alternative zur Sicherung Ihrer Daten an.
  • Denken Sie an die potenzielle zukünftige Verwendung Ihrer Daten und ihre Zielgruppe – haben Sie das richtige Datenformat gewählt?
  • Betrachten Sie die Anforderungen von  Verlage, Förderinstitutionen bzw. Fachcommunity. Es ist durchaus möglich, dass Sie Ihre Daten in einem fachspezifischen Repositorium ablegen müssen.
  • Generische Repositorien bieten möglicherweise keinen Datenkuratierungsprozess oder Qualitätskontrollschritt für die hinterlegten Daten. Stellen Sie Ihre Forschungsergebnisse in stabilen Formaten zur Verfügung, die für die Langzeitarchivierung geeignet sind. Dadurch werden Ihre Daten die Obsoleszenz von Hardware und Software standhalten.
  • Der For-Profit Charakter einiger generischer Repositorien kann dazu führen, dass einige erweiterte Funktionen möglicherweise nur für zahlende Kunden verfügbar sind.